Affiliated Institutes VTU Notes Syllabus QuestionPapers Alerts Results

Visvesvaraya Technological University (VTU) is a collegiate public state university in Karnataka State, India. It was established on 1 April 1998 by the Government of Karnataka as per VTU Act 1994, to improve the quality of technical education in the state. Apart from a few notable exceptions, VTU has complete authority in the state of Karnataka. It is a statutory requirement for colleges offering any program in engineering or technology in the state to be affiliated with the university.

Visvesvaraya Technological University is named after notable Indian engineer, scholar, statesman and the recipient of highest honour ‘Bharata RatnaSir. M. Visvesvaraya. VTU is an institution that is rich in history, academic excellence, and leadership. The University is performing and continues to perform with a VISION, MISSION and MANDATE.

Visvesvaraya Technological university is one of India’s leading and largest technological Universities. It has 201 affiliated engineering colleges under its jurisdiction. Every year over 50,000 students graduate from this University who are the next generation technical leaders, thinkers, innovators and scholars

 Jnana Sangama, Belgaum is the headquarters of VTU. Additionally, the university has three regional centers located in Bangalore, Gulbarga and Mysore.


VTU is one of the biggest Technological University in India, having 201 colleges affiliated to it with under graduate course in 28 disciplines and PG Program in 71 disciplines. The intake at UG level is about 67100 students and at the PG level it is about 12666 students.

Class Awards

Class Awarded Marks Range Abbreviation
First Class with Distinction 69-100 FCD
First Class 60-69 FC
Second Class 35 – 59 SC

List of Vice Chancellors

No. From To Name Position previously held
1 April 1, 1998 March 30, 2001 Dr. S. Rajashekharaiah Principal,Basavesvara Engineering College, Bagalkot
2 April 1, 2001 June 30, 2007 Dr. K. Balaveera Reddy Professor, Department of Mechanical Engineering,National Institute of Technology Karnataka, Surathkal
3 July 1, 2007 June 30, 2010 Dr. H. P. Khincha Chairman, Division of Electrical Sciences, Indian Institute of Science, Bangalore
4 July 1, 2010 Till Date Dr. H. Maheshappa Principal,Cambridge Institute of Technology, Bangalore


We the team of au-library  have planned to maintain a website called www.aulibrary.com to help students   and have collected  study materials like notes, question papers, lab manuals, ppt presentations, e-books ,textbooks etc from different websites

we would like to thank  each and every one for helping us to making this website a success one and we hope its useful to students as well as faculties. And also for providing us the study materials to upload in this library.



Click Here to Contact VTU BOARD

Regional Centers